EPA Today

EPA Today Announcements and Events

EPA Today News Briefs page

Community TV News Show

























































































































































By Henrietta J. Burroughs                 Follow East Palo Alto Today on
East Palo Alto Today                               Facebook    Twitter         Blog    
December 4, 2013                            
EPA Today Facebook page Follow epatoday on Twitter EPA Today Blog Icon


With the selection of its new Mayor, Laura Martinez and its new Vice Mayor, Lisa Yarbrough-Gauthier, the East Palo Alto City Council will be busy this week selecting its next member to sit on the council.

Sixteen residents applied to sit in the council seat that was formerly held by Vice Mayor David Woods who submitted a formal letter of resignation that was dated October 17, 2013.

The formal letter came several weeks after Woods announced his resignation by email to three of his colleagues on October 1.

The council voted at a special meeting that it held on November 6 to accept applications from community residents, who were interested in filling the vacant council seat.

At the meeting, the council set December 5 at 5 p.m. as the deadline for applications.

East Palo Alto's City Clerk, Nora Pimentel, said only one application, that of Joshua To's, was received before the deadline date. Then, on the day of the deadline, 15 residents submitted their applications for the vacant council seat.

Applications were received from the following people:

Clarence Jackson

Luis Vizcardo

Isaiah Vi

Etivise Latu

Bernardo Huerta

Al Barlevy

Archelle Funnié

Laura Nunez-Aguilar

Joshua To

Kimberly Carlton

A Peter Evans

Carlos Romero

Donna Rutherford

Stanley Yim

Victoria Brewster

Antoine Brooks

Council members will select their next colleague at the special council meeting, which will be held on Thursday, December 5 at 6:45 p.m. in the council chambers at 2415 University Avenue in East Palo Alto. The council meeting will be live streamed by the Media Center over Channel 29.


The author of this article, Henrietta J. Burroughs, can be contacted by email at epatoday@epatoday.org.


Other Related East Palo Alto Today articles:

East Palo Alto City Council members elect new leaders

East Palo Alto City Council member, David Woods announces his resignation